Boulder Valley School District


  • A
  • Foundations and Basic Commitments

File: AA (pdf)
Adopted: August 9, 1976
Revised: November 13, 2018



The Boulder Valley School District, which was created on March 21, 1961, through the consolidation of 14 formerly independent units, encompasses the southern half of Boulder County, Colorado. On August 11, 1966, annexation was enacted to include a portion of the northern part of Gilpin County, making a total of over 500 square miles for the District. On November 15, 2001, Broomfield became a City and County. Boulder and Gilpin Counties and the City and County of Broomfield are located northwest of Denver. The western portion of the District lies in the mountains while the eastern portion lies in the foothills and the plains to the east of the Rockies. The District is largely residential with many cultural advantages.

The legal name of the District is Boulder Valley School District Number RE2, Boulder and Gilpin Counties and the City and County of Broomfield, and its legal status is that of a body corporate. The District is organized and operates under the Colorado Constitution, the laws of the State of Colorado, regulations of the Colorado State Board of Education, and written policies adopted by the School District's Board of Education.

Constitution of Colorado, Article IX, Sections 1, 2, 15
C.R.S. 22-32-101
C.R.S. 22-32-102

End of File: AA