Boulder Valley School District

Congratulations Class of 2020!

together, you made it. celebrating the 2020 classes of
Carolyn Nohe

While the pandemic has delayed BVSD’s graduations, it did not keep our community from coming together virtually and, in some cases in socially-distanced displays, to show their appreciation of the Class of 2020 during BVSD Senior Week.

This week, yard signs and banners went up at schools, special advertisements were placed in the newspaper and seniors were celebrated online. Social media posts over the weekend also showcased parent-organized parades. 

While the Class of 2020 will have to wait until July for their commencement ceremonies, they are definitely still feeling the love this week.

INFORMATION: BVSD Graduation Dates and Senior Celebrations

Additionally, we are learning of some of the outstanding achievements of this extraordinary class. Below are the honorees that were provided by the schools or organization by deadline.

Boettcher Scholarship

Established in 1952, the Boettcher Scholarship program annual awards 42 scholarships to graduating high school seniors in Colorado. The four-year scholarship includes virtually all expenses to attend the Colorado school of the recipient’s choice: full tuition, fees, a book allowance and an annual stipend for living expenses. The scholarship also includes lifelong programming and support to ensure that students reach their full potential as community leaders. Scholars are selected based on academics, service, leadership and character.

BVSD’s 2020 Boettcher Scholar is Ellie Gentry of Peak to Peak Charter School. Gentry plans to attend the University of Colorado Boulder.

MORE INFORMATION: Boettcher Scholarship

National Merit Scholarship Recipients

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)—which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year. Candidates then go through a rigorous, multi-level process before being selected as scholarship recipients.

As of today, the following BVSD students have been selected as National Merit Scholarship winners in three categories.

National Merit® $2500 Scholarships
Every Finalist competes for these single-payment scholarships, which are awarded on a state-representational basis. Winners are selected by a committee of college admission officers and high school counselors without consideration of family financial circumstances, college choice, or major and career plans.

Erik Anderson - Boulder High School
Natalie Bruhwiler - Boulder High School
Anudeep Golla - Fairview High School
Brandon Guo - Peak to Peak Charter School
William Hofgard - Fairview High School
Luke Pan - Fairview High School
Kyle Quinlan - Fairview High School
Sierra Reschke - Boulder High School

Corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards
Corporate sponsors designate their awards for children of their employees or members, for residents of a community where a company has operations, or for Finalists with career plans the sponsor wishes to encourage. These scholarships may either be renewable for four years of undergraduate study or one-time awards.

Zelie Fearnside - Monarch High School (Sponsored by FTS International, LLC)

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards
Officials of each sponsor college select winners of their awards from Finalists who have been accepted for admission and have informed NMSC by the published deadlines that the sponsor college or university is their first choice. These awards are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study.

Sydney J Wanner - Boulder High School (National Merit Tufts University Scholarship)
Sebastian I Willowhawk - Boulder High School (National Merit University of Oregon Scholarship)

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the following BVSD winners of the college-sponsored awards on June 3, 2020:

Sophie M. Boileau - Fairview High School (National Merit Carleton College Scholarship)
Isabella M. Gibb - Fairview High School (National Merit Northwestern University Scholarship)
Jeffrey Changhao Li - Peak to Peak Charter School (National Merit University of Texas at Dallas Scholarship)
Dominic C. Chantra - Monarch High School (National Merit University of Texas at Dallas Scholarship)

Additional recipients will be announced on June 3 and July 13.

MORE INFORMATION: National Merit Scholarship Awards

U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President of the United States, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars, one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

This year, two Fairview High School students Tarun Amasa and Anudeep Golla are among the 12 Colorado students selected as a U.S. Presidential Scholars semifinalists. Finalists will be announced on the U.S. Department of Education’s website.


Congratulations to these students and to the entire Class of 2020.


Recent Stories