Boulder Valley School District

Bear Creek and Peak to Peak Charter School receive Governor's Science Bright Spot Awards

Bear Creek and Peak to Peak Charter School receive Governor's Science Bright Spot Awards
Randy Barber

Each BVSD school will receive $50,000 for science instruction, student support

BOULDER - On Thursday, Colorado Governor Jared Polis announced that Bear Creek Elementary in Boulder and Peak to Peak Charter School in Lafayette were amongst the 16 schools to receive Governor's Science Bright Spot Awards.

This is the third round of Bright Spot Awards given out by Polis, which were designed to highlight the resilience of Colorado’s students and schools following the pandemic. 

Last November, Alicia Sanchez Elementary in Lafayette received a first-round Governor’s Bright Spot Award for demonstrating strong growth in student achievement since 2019.

Bear Creek Elementary and Peak to Peak Charter School will receive $50,000 from the Federal Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) Fund to purchase educational technology, offer summer school, after-school programming, professional development, and other opportunities that will benefit students’ learning experience. 

“By highlighting the top sixteen schools in the state for science achievement, we are shining a light on what works. We look forward to finding out what works at these schools and helping more students excel in science. Improving science education will help students and our state. Many of Colorado’s booming job sectors like aerospace are based on science so I am thrilled to provide these science-education related grants to schools so our teachers have the tools in the classroom and students can learn and get into good-paying jobs,” said Governor Polis. “We are also proposing a new investment in after-school programs to boost science achievement.”

Governor's Office Release: Strengthening Colorado’s Schools: Governor Polis Announces New Educational Funding Celebrating Science Achievement Through Third Round of the Governor’s Bright Spot Awards

The following is a full list of all 16 Colorado schools were awarded Governor’s Bright Spot Awards:

  • Pioneer Elementary School: Colorado Springs, Colorado
  • Aurora Quest K-8: Aurora, Colorado  
  • Simla Elementary and Junior High School: Simla, Colorado 
  • Bear Creek Elementary School: Boulder, Colorado  
  • Peak to Peak Charter School: Lafayette, Colorado
  • Rudy Elementary School: Colorado Springs, Colorado 
  • Paonia K-8: Paonia, Colorado
  • Cedaredge High School: Cedaredge, Colorado 
  • Parker Core Knowledge Charter School: Parker, Colorado  
  • Eads Middle School: Eads, Colorado 
  • Dennison Elementary School: Lakewood, Colorado 
  • McClave Undivided High School: McClave, Colorado 
  • Rye High School: Rye, Colorado 
  • Stratton Senior High School: Stratton, Colorado 
  • Colorado STEM Academy: Westminster, Colorado

Again, funds allocated to the awarded schools must be spent by September 30, 2024, on qualifying expenses. Such expenses include tutoring services and other enrichment services, purchasing educational technology, summer school and after-school programming, non-executive instructional support employment, and professional development or training for teachers.



Recent Stories

No post to display.