Boulder Valley School District

College Before Graduation

Would you like to get started on your college degree while in High School?

Or how about earning industry certification so you can start your career sooner?

The College Before Graduation Program allows students to earn college/industry certifications and high school credits simultaneously. Students may significantly reduce their college expenses, increase the likelihood that they will complete college, and earn marketable workforce skills by taking college credit courses. BVSD offers a variety of ways for students to earn these credits.

IMPORTANT: In order to participate in this program, please see the information below. All courses must be approved by the student's high school principal and counselor. BVSD pays the equivalent of the current Colorado community college tuition rate for courses at Front Range Community College and CU Boulder. CU Boulder tuition rates are higher. Families are responsible for the paying the difference plus books and fees as required by each school. Fees varies by course and can be as high as a few hundred dollars. See links below for more information on fees. Grades earned become part of the student's permanent college transcript and GPA which can have an impact on admissions and financial aid. Please consider wisely if this program is appropriate. Courses taken Pass/Fail or Satisfactory/Unsatisfactory are not covered in this program. In courses where a letter grade below a 'C" is given (including a 'D', 'F', 'W', or 'I'), the family agrees to reimburse the district for the costs paid. Students are responsible for knowing and following all district and college deadlines. If you plan to take more than 2-3 college courses, be strategic. It's not about how many credits you earn while in high school. What's important is how many of those credits will be accepted by your intended college or university. Work with your high school counselor and a college advisor to optimize the value of this program.

Deadlines to turn all BVSD paperwork in to your counselor are:

  • For Spring courses: November 15 - if you do not receive notification of approval by December 1, please contact madeline.brockish@bvsd.org
  • For ASCENT: February 1 (of your senior year)
  • For Summer courses: APRIL 15. For FRCC District Select courses (see below), the deadline is May 17.
  • For Fall courses: May 1. For District Select courses (see below), the deadline is August 18.

** Please visit college websites (CU Boulder, FRCC) for updated COVID information and policies.

Tabs

ACADEMIC SUPPORT - WRITING TUTOR

For BVSD students in any Front Range Community College course, individual and small group tutoring is available for writing assistance. Please contact  BVSD.WritingTutor@gmail.com to set up an appointment. All sessions are free of charge.

Universidad antes de la graduación

CBG Information Session Slides

Centaurus High School graduating senior smiles

Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Sep 26
Mon, Sep 27
Tue, Sep 28
Wed, Sep 29
Thu, Sep 30
Fri, Oct 1
Sat, Oct 2
Sun, Oct 3
Mon, Oct 4
Tue, Oct 5
Wed, Oct 6
Thu, Oct 7
Fri, Oct 8
Sat, Oct 9
Sun, Oct 10
Mon, Oct 11
Tue, Oct 12
Wed, Oct 13
Thu, Oct 14
Fri, Oct 15
Sat, Oct 16
Sun, Oct 17
Mon, Oct 18
Fri, Oct 22
Sat, Oct 23
Sun, Oct 24
Mon, Oct 25
Tue, Oct 26
Wed, Oct 27
Thu, Oct 28
Fri, Oct 29
Sat, Oct 30
Sun, Oct 31
Mon, Nov 1
Tue, Nov 2
Wed, Nov 3
Fri, Nov 5
Sat, Nov 6

Contact Us 

Madeline Brockish
Coordinator, Career and College Connections
720-561-5166

Para obtener ayuda en español, comuníquese con la línea de Ayuda Familiar a 720-770-0102

Also check out the Colorado Department of Education website on options for earning college credit while in high school.